The Third Anniversary of My 21st Birthday.

Ever since I turned 22, I have not been looking forward to birthday’s.
It seems like yesterday when I was 18, and I would say to myself “I can’t wait to turn 21!” Everyone had told me, “it will be here before you know it.” And now here I am, trying to stop time and prolong my last hours of being 23.
I can’t help but feel pressured and anxious with the concept of time passing by so quickly, and growing older. I should feel blessed and thankful that I am celebrating another year, but my nostalgic tendencies kick in. I can’t help but hold on to the memories of little-to-no responsibility, and the sense of feeling free.
For those of us in our early to mid 20s, “grown-up” life becomes monotonous and exhausting. You go off to college, and graduate – then choose to work, attend graduate school, or juggle both at the same time. You’re discovering life with more independence, and wish you can just escape from the stress and struggles that life brings.
When I was younger, I thought I had my future all figured out – A naive and elaborate plan that included all of my goals, aspirations, and dreams. Although my life isn’t what I pictured it would be, that doesn’t mean I should let go of those dreams I had once imagined. We tend to lose sight of our dreams by imagining the impossible and fearing the outcome – but why lose sight of dreams that have lead you to where you are now?
We’re expected to have our lives planned out to such an extent that we lose sight of our youth. We forget to live in the moment instead of living in the future. I don’t want to look back at the years of my 20s and feel a sense of regret that I should have done more, and not worry so much about growing up. If you make the best of your 20s, you won’t worry so much about growing older and you will look back on those years with a feeling of contentment.
The most influential life lesson I have learned that applies to the way I am feeling about time and growing up goes like this: “Live your life the way you want to, and not how others expect you to.”
Turning 24 in a matter of hours, I realized over the past few years that I have been blessed immensely. I’m thankful to have a prestigious career, applying for my Master’s degree, and have been surrounded by great and supportive friends and family. All of my hard work and dedication has paid off – helping to shape and build my future, and allow my dreams, goals and aspirations to become a reality. I’m eager to see what this year has in store for me. Cheers to turning 24. May it be all I hope for, and much more.

Leave a comment